The mafia only kills in summer but pierfrancesco diliberto’s film has already slain me…

12 Jun

I am on my last day of new Italian films, Italian films that sadly, for the most part, don’t have distribution here in the US. Watching the powerful filmthe south is nothingby Fabio Mollo, the other night, I was struck by how terrible conditions are in Mollo’s home town of Reggio. This especially saddened me since it was my mother’s home town, and the lingering question of how her life would have been different if her parents had stayed there was only made more poignant when I noticed the similarity between the last name of my mother’s family and Mollo’s heroine. I was shocked and saddened at the stronghold the N’drangheta still has on our region, even in the face of what Mollo says is the desire by a new generation for change.

This afternoon’s screen docket seemed to stay a bit in the South, and while viewing Diliberto’s phenomenal film, la mafia uccide solo d’estate ( the mafia only kills in the summer) I was struck again by the seeming stagnation of the South caused by the stranglehold that the Mafia has had for so long in this beautiful region. While diliberto’s film takes place in Palermo, the message is the same – things must change. He presents it so beautifully, contrasting the comic, the shocking, and the bittersweet so masterfully against a backdrop of young love, and school kid events, that when the Mafia assassinations occur more frequently in the film, they hit you full force. And as they hit me, as the realization that things haven’t changed enough, if at all, in a South that I love, in a South that is tremendous, I started to cry. Right there, in my center row, center seat. While I hope for US distribution for such incredibly well-crafted films as Mollo’s il Sud e niente and Paolo Zucca’s full-course of a film, l’arbitro/ the referee, I hope that Diliberto’s film makes it to many an American screen, and I hope even mor fervently that people go to see this film that makes an observation about the social and political state of the South of Italy while being laugh out loud funny, poignant, and pull out your tissues sad.

20140612-180812.jpg

5 Responses to “The mafia only kills in summer but pierfrancesco diliberto’s film has already slain me…”

  1. Cheri July 30, 2014 at 9:16 pm #

    I love this movie! I hope for wider distribution too! Were you at Open Roads?

    • profvalfranco August 6, 2014 at 4:52 am #

      Hi Cheri! Open Roads is a fantastic series, but we need U.S. distribution for these fantastic Italian films. If we can get more people to support Italian cinema when it is in our local theaters, then hopefully exhibitors will book more Italian films. Let your local art house know what you want to see!

      • Cheri August 6, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

        That’s my goal! We should be friends!

  2. Donata Fulgione August 5, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

    Hi Valerie, I was in your continuing Ed class on Italian Renaissance art in Mamaroneck. So sorry to see no new classes there with you but plan on trekking up to Armonk instead. You’re not rid of us yet! We really enjoyed your presentations. Question: is Lincoln Center the only place to see these films? And also: Does Lincoln center have these featured every year in June? Italian cinema that is? Wow. That’s my birthday month as well and I get a similar tug seeing them as it makes me think of my mom, who is deceased also, and who loved going to see itLian films with me. Looking forward to seeing you in the fall. Donata

    • profvalfranco August 6, 2014 at 4:58 am #

      Ciao, Donna!
      Looking forward to seeing you at my classes in Armonk! Unfortunately, most of the films screened at the Open Roads festival at Lincoln Center often haven’t been picked up yet for U.S. distribution. As audience members, we need to support Italian film at the box office whenever the opportunity presents itself & we need to promote it via word of mouth to our friends & family, as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.